Jacksonville NC Military Homecoming Photographer | Camp Lejeune | Hronchek Homecoming

Seeing the Marines of 1/9 come back to Camp Lejeune was a special homecoming for me because two family friends were anxiously awaiting their Marines’ arrival!  (I’ll be blogging the other homecoming soon!).

This Marine Corps family is one that truly embodies the spirit of the amazing families with whom we serve!

After working together on Parris Island, we were excited to hear that they would be moving up to NC too (familiar faces to visit with hopefully!)…but after only a few months, Brian was already up for a deployment.  Time just couldn’t go by quickly enough to see him come home!

I know that Amber is a wonderful and strong Marine Corps wife…not only did she serve our country in the Navy and have a deployment of her own, but she’s stood next to Brain through 2 others.  This family has given so much for our freedoms, I knew I wanted to capture their amazing reunion when he finally got back home to Camp Lejeune!

Every homecoming is truly unique, and this one had its share of surprises.  Namely, it was the coldest night I think we have had this winter.  My thermometer said it was 25 degrees outside!!

As I pulled up, I saw some Marines unloading bags.  Seeing them lining them up in the cold, dark night was so surreal…these bags that have been around the world are about to be home again at last.

I headed inside to the gym’s welcome warmth.  And the wait seemed like an eternity!  I know it feels like forever whether it is 10 minutes or 10 hours, but that last stretch is agonizing!

The hours moved by so slowly!  There was an announcement that they would be another hour…and then after waiting some time, ANOTHER announcement that it would be ANOTHER hour!  Torture!

But even through this aching wait, all of them were waiting with smiles on their face almost the entire time!

The girls were so patient and excited…nothing could dampen their spirits to have Daddy home again.  They found some snacks and had fun playing games to pass the time.  Audrey found some creative fun on the phone that had us all laughing!

I downed some coffee hoping it would help, but at 3am, I am definitely not as energetic as their younger daughter Reese!

Finally, we heard they were forming up, and it was time to head outside!  The surreal feeling of the wait finally being over mixed with excitement is one that is so difficult to explain…having been there before with Matt, it brought back a total flood of emotions. I knew exactly what they were feeling as they walked outside!

This little family was finally standing on the same soil…just waiting to be reunited!  Now the emotions alternated between exhilaration and freezing!!

We waited in a narrow parking lot, and saw the formation start to walk down towards us…

…and out of that crazy crowd of people, you would think you’d never find your loved one…but how utterly amazing for me to witness the moment their eyes met again after 7 long months!

And the wait was over…this Marine and his family were together again at last! Every family has a special moment of reconnection, but I was fighting back tears watching Brian be surrounded by a hug from his daughters and wife…

I’m so thankful God has rejoined them, and they will be able to spend Christmas together! The bitter cold is no match for the love that is in their hearts as they head home to be together under one roof again!

Thank you again to an amazing family for their continued sacrifices for our country. I pray this time of homecoming is amazing and draws your bond together even stronger than before!

And thank you to all the troops who continue to serve in this season and throughout the year. God bless America!

*Julie

I am an on-location photographer in Jacksonville NC, and my passion is capturing moments of love and joy wherever they happen.  From military homecomings to family portraits, children’s portraits and more, my camera and I strive to tell the stories of real life.  If you would like more information about booking your maternity portrait session, newborn portrait session, family portrait session, military homecoming or other family event, please contact me for more information.  I am booking limited sessions beginning January 2012.

Posted on December 20, 2011, in Military, Your Stories and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. As the grandmother/grandmother-in-law of Madison and Ryne DeMaio, I would like to thank you for taking the time to capture the precious moments of Ryne’s homecoming! Your comments and photos are absolutely wonderful!

    • Thank you so much for your kind words, Christine!! Hearing that truly adds a whole new level to the joy that I have for capturing these moments! So thankful for God’s gift of love & life! And thank you again for taking time out to share how much you enjoyed them. It means so much to me!

Leave a comment