Jacksonville NC Military Homecoming Photographer | Camp Lejeune | DeMaio Homecoming

Two of my friends had husbands coming home on the same day, and I was beyond thrilled for them…but the dilemma…how on earth do I document two amazing homecomings?!  The answer is truly, I couldn’t…I’ll never book two of these amazing moments at the same time.  (I don’t want to miss a precious second of those first hugs and kisses!).  But God worked this homecoming out in an amazing way!

(To see the full homecoming session from this night, click here).

Madison and Ryne have a wonderful friend that photographed the night’s events, and I agreed I would snap a couple of quick shots if I got the chance.  And this couple is so amazing…even the few photos I quickly snapped are so powerful and really relate how awesome it was to see them reunited again just in time for Christmas!

Madison arrived on base to anxiously await her husband’s return at 10:30pm…figuring it would take just a few more hours until he was in her arms.  But true to the Marine Corps style, things kept happening, and she ended up waiting just over SIX hours with her friends to greet him!  All too well I know that phrase, “Hurry up and wait,” and it was most definitely the night’s theme!

In the excruciatingly long wait in the gym (where thank goodness it was warm!), I had plenty of time to capture some photos of the anxious waiting!  It is something else how slowly time moves when you know you are within miles of the loved one you haven’t seen in 7 months!!

Madison was literally glowing!  It is so obvious to see how strong their love is, even through the time and space spent apart.  I know what a strong woman it takes, and how God has to get you through the long nights and miles between each other!

Finally it was time to head outside, only to wait forever again!  But even though it was a freezing 25 degrees, everyone was still all smiles!  I know this feeling…can you even feel a hint of sadness when you’re just moments from seeing your Marine again!? No! Just anxious checking for a message that he’s done checking in his weapon at the armory and will be walking up any moment!

When they began marching towards their families, everything was suddenly a huge rush of emotion.  The wait was almost over!  All around families were greeting their Marines…and then FINALLY it was Madison’s turn!!

As I said above, these were just a few of their precious first moments together.  Their friend did an awesome job of capturing more photos for them!

Walking away to continue documenting Amber’s homecoming, I couldn’t resist turning back and my heart leaped for Madison as I saw her standing there with her husband.  Thank God for his protection of this wonderful couple!

Also thank you to Madison and Ryne for their service to our country.  I know so much of what it means to be a military family, and don’t take for granted the sacrifices you make to keep our country free.  God bless America!

*Julie

I am an on-location photographer in Jacksonville NC, and my passion is capturing moments of love and joy wherever they happen.  From military homecomings to family portraits, children’s portraits and more, my camera and I strive to tell the stories of real life.  If you would like more information about booking your maternity portrait session, newborn portrait session, family portrait session, military homecoming or other family event, please contact me for more information.  I am booking limited sessions beginning January 2012.  Spaces for military homecomings fill up especially quickly and as I mentioned, I won’t double book (this was an exception for frineds!), contact me as early as possible to ensure I will be available to document your amazing homecoming moments!

Posted on December 21, 2011, in Military, Your Stories and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

Leave a comment